While I was in Taiwan, I went to see a dentist (who was coincidentally my uncle) and underwent the fastest cleaning I’ve ever had in my 20 some years seeing a dentist. Now, I have this cavity that’s been chilling in my mouth for about 2 years now, and I was scared that he would say something like, well, you left it alone for too long, it’s time for a root canal.

But this is not what he said. No, he did mention it casually, but he poked around the back of my mouth and said in Chinese, I see it, I see it.

I assumed he was talking about the cavity, but no, he uncovered my face (they had covered my face with a towel) and said, “You should get your wisdom teeth out.”

This was so unexpected that I’m sure I gasped aloud and looked aghast at him, but he had turned to my grandmother and was explaining something I didn’t catch, so I couldn’t ask him questions. Not that it would’ve helped.

The point of this story is, I’m scared. (I know what you’re thinking. Why aren’t your wisdom teeth out already?

I’m thinking the same thing. I wish it was already over.)

