I recently helped my mom create an email account on gmail, and today I finally saw her online. Excited, I messaged her right away. HI MAMA, I typed. I waited for 20 minutes, and then my cell phone went off.

me: Hi Mommy.
Mom: OMG I DON’T GET THIS WHAT I AM DOING AHHHH.
me: CALM DOWN. Okay. What do you want to do.
Mom: I want to reply to your email!
me: Okay click the reply button.
Mom: Okay. But it’s your email again!
me: It’s okay! Just write in the box.
Mom: I can’t! Your email is there!
me: YES YOU CAN. JUST WRITE IT ANYWAY.
Mom: BUT YOUR EMAIL IS THERE.
me: IT’S GOING TO BE THERE. JUST IGNORE IT AND WRITE WHAT YOU WANT.

It was an exciting afternoon, needless to say.

Mom: UGH, now I’m all sweaty and I have to go tutor kids! Why is email so hard?

Why is it so hard indeed.

