whatever you fill your mind with.

Last night, I watched Law and Order with Jeanette for an hour, and then she went to bed and I watched for another hour by myself. I was scared out of my mind; I can never watch these cop shows without feeling dread (just ask Jess; I once made her late because I couldn’t watch CSI by myself). It was a good thing Thomas was online, he watched it simultaneously, so I didn’t feel as alone.

I had also read up on Nightmare on Elm Street because there were so many commercials for it and I wanted to see what happens at the end. Another bad idea. I never thought of myself as having a hyperactive imagination, but as I turned off the tv and the lights, I could feel my heart filling with panic and fear.

It’s why the word tells us to fill our minds with holy things. If your mind is occupied on things above, then things below will cease to matter.

Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things.

Philippians 4:8

