Monica was telling me on Wednesday how she took advantage of this rare beautiful spring weather to trek up to Indian Rock and I lamented the fact that I was stuck in my office all day. “I’m so jealous!” I said, “I spent most of my day looking longingly outside.”

Monica peered at me. “You do look paler,” she said, nodding.

Jenn and I email each other during work, and she asked me my weekend plans. I’m going to SF with Justine to eat and eat and eat and make her fat, because we all know she needs it. (Bi-Rite Creamery, Tartine Bakery, and Dynamo Donuts are on my list. And the Creme Brulee Cart if I can find him.)

Jenn approved and wrote:

Yay for BiRite! Yay for walking in SF. You’ll burn off all the calories you eat. Socal = fat. :[

I thought about this, then replied: No Jenn. Working = fat. I just sit on my butt all day long.

She had to agree.

Finally, a conversation with Lydia (from Sunday):

Lydia: You know, even if you exercise for 2 hours after work, it’s not enough to make up that time you just sit there for 8 hours at your desk.

I stared at her blankly, then in despair.

Lydia: So you should definitely move around every two hours or something…

In my head, ahh hope! Then,

Lydia: …in addition to those two hours after work of course.

There’s no hope for me; so begins my body’s slow (or not so slow) descent into mush.

