Maybe not so much frivolity (which I almost replaced with frivolousness, because that word just looks 10x more fitting) as selfishness. Explanation: I really wanted to go home this weekend, so I decided on the spur that I would drive my own car down, never mind the impracticalities, the waste of resources, the short amount of time–I just wanted to go home.

Except, as we exited the 580E towards the 5S, there was a sudden noise and intense vibration, as if an airplane were directly above us. Needless to say, I pulled over, upon which Justin proclaimed we had a flat. Nark and Justin were gracious enough to accompany me down and I am ever so glad that they did. I think, if it had been someone similar to me who had been driving with me, we would’ve just sat there and screamed and cried in frustration. As it was, I did cry, but Nark and Justin were so calm and patient that the whole process was as painless as it could be.

We had stopped near a call box luckily and the tow truck came after 30 minutes. We then stopped in Tracy to get the tire changed, but that took another 2 hours because they were quite busy. Fortunately, we were in the suburbs, so we amused ourselves at Marshall’s and ate dinner and before long we were on our way.

We left Berkeley around 2:30pm. By the time we were home, it was 12:25am.

I’m pretty sure we were cheated out of a lot of money, but what can you do when you don’t know anything about tow trucks or cars or tires? I didn’t even know we would have spare tire in our trunk until Justin pulled it out.

The bottom line is, God is good. There were a million different scenarios that could have happened and if we were going to get a flat anyway, I’m glad it happened the way it did and with these people. Nark said there was a moment when she thought we would never make it home, and I definitely knew the feeling. The whole experience was quite surreal, even though it wasn’t really that big of a deal. I guess I’m still very much a child in that way.

In other news, Justin showed me how to use cruise control! It was quite the exhilarating experience.

