I watched Sherlock Holmes yesterday with my cousins and Heidi yesterday and I loved it! Initially I watched it for, of course, Rachel McAdams, but the film really exceeded my expectations.

What they did particularly well was how they portrayed Holmes’ thought process. Robert Downey Jr. gets this look on his face, and you can just see his brain moving and working. Although it would seem an advantage to think in this way, the film makers didn’t neglect to demonstrate how little he can control how he thinks. The impeccable precision to every little detail, the inability to shut off a million different thoughts, soaking in every conversation that in within ear’s range–it’s his curse, essentially, to deal with.

Rachel McAdams doesn’t have that big of a role in the film actually. I do wish they had expounded more on her character–there’s one particular scene that stands out, where she defends herself from two thugs. I like the scene because it said so much about who she was, while throughout the rest of the film, we only get hints. Which is, I guess, the point; she’s as much a mystery to us as she is to Holmes.

Jude Law was adorable. That’s all I have to say.

Watch it!

Aren’t they cute?

I also watched Pan’s Labyrinth recently, and I liked it surprisingly. Not for the little girl or her fantasy world, but the back story of her mother, and the servant girl Mercedes. Particularly Mercedes, because I think the little girl could’ve grown up to be either like her mother, or Mercedes. Her bravery, I think, really stuck with me.

Anyhow, I wouldn’t watch it again, but it’s a good movie, so I would definitely recommend it.

