Have you heard of it? It’s where you poop in buckets and then dump the poop back out into your yard…somewhere. Thomas first introduced the idea to me– “Apparently poop, when disposed of properly, has no smell!” and “Why waste two resources, water, and poop?”

“Poop…is a resource?” I was incredulous. Actually I was more skeptical of the fact that it didn’t smell. Apparently, fecal bacteria disappear after a while too.

“Yeah,” he replied. “Fertilizer.”

I didn’t give it a second thought until I read an article in Time magazine today titled “Humanure,” detailing the exact things Thomas was proposing. As a matter of fact, it is all the rage amongst the hip, somewhat young, upper-middle-class people are doing somewhere in the States (I forget where).

Oh, the things we do to be green.

