After Dan finished his GREs yesterday (yay!) we watched もののけ姫 or Princess Mononoke, because Dan’s never seen it before and we both love Hayao Miyazaki’s works. I told him I liked it because the characters were so human; there’s no clear distinction between good and evil people, because everyone’s just trying their best to live. They hold onto the things they think are important, but in the end, they realize that to live is better, to have one another is better. He told me it made him emo because they all had their own worldview, and they all thought they were right. I agree with that–it’s part of the way Miyazaki is able to bring out their humanity–everyone thinks they’re right, but in the end it doesn’t matter.

There are two particular scenes that I like; one is when San stabs Ashitaka in the chest for being human, but when he embraces her in response, she realizes her own humanness. She’s so frail at that moment; it’s a beautiful contrast to her determination and strength and independence throughout the movie.

The other scene is one of the last scenes, when San leaves Ashitaka. She tells him that she has feelings for him, but that she can’t live among the humans. He tells her it’s alright, that he’ll come see her often. It struck me because although they can’t live in the same place, he’s wants to be with her. He doesn’t pressure her to stay with him, but there’s that knowledge of oh, I like you, and that’s enough for them. Dan took it another way–he saw it as an open relationship (though I’m not sure if he was joking or not), but it made me wonder what Miyazaki’s intentions were.

In any case, it’s a great movie, and you should all watch it!

mononoke hime

