I have two weeks before I find out where I’ll be this next year. It’s scary, but either way, here or home, I know I’ll be okay, because God’ll take care of me.

In the meantime, this waiting period, I am grateful for everyone here and the kindness and support that they’ve shown me. I’m naturally self-sufficient and prideful, so having to rely on the grace of others has been a challenge and a learning experience. I know that it is only through God’s grace that they can show me grace, and instead of feeling intrusive or bothersome, I should demonstrate God’s grace to others.

The Gi’s have taken me in. I am in their study, inhabiting the wall directly facing the door. My bed looks out of place under a window, with its vibrant, colorful, smiling faces against pastel lilac walls. An extra stool is in the bathroom where my toothbrush, toothpaste, contacts, and face wash reside.

In the background, the sound of rushing wind as the Bart races past. I wonder if I will be able to tell which direction it is going in after some time.

My head’s been filled with GRE vocabulary lately. Scurvy (despicable–this is Dan’s favorite), milk (to exploit), pine (to yearn for), qualify (to limit), stand (a bunch of trees), and…that’s it. Ryan told me I should take the GREs because apparently it all goes downhill from here.

The day I moved out of Nark’s, I made dinner for Tiff (her new roommate). She made this amazing raspberry mousse–she and Nark are going to have a ball baking together.

She was in Kenya for the summer working at a men’s rehabilitation center. She has such a big heart.

It makes me wonder if God calls me, will I respond?

