We watched Amelie for Transitions today. I liked it, but I couldn’t help but be frustrated throughout the movie at her roundabout and underhanded schemes.

I think I liked it because of her facial expressions actually. She has a particular smile that Audrey Tautou does amazingly well; it expresses so much in one simple face. She reminded me of a cat–a clever creature that thinks it is smarter than it really is and takes immense satisfaction in its trivial triumphs.

The muted cinematography was so beautiful; I loved the combination of the wistful longing for the old, bohemian Paris and the bright, almost neon colors of a young girl’s fancy. This was Paris through Amelie’s eyes.

I do wish I had kept up my French and I definitely want to visit France one day.

japanese poster

japanese poster

