I confess–I’m only reading The Time Traveler’s Wife because I saw the previews for the new movie with Rachel McAdams. One of my friends from high school actually gave me the book before we graduated, but I had forgotten about it until now. It’s really strange–when I become really interested in something, it possesses me. It’s just as well that these manic fits of obsession seize me only briefly, otherwise I think I’d be in a panic all the time. I’m pretty sure it will pass by next week, when I finish the book.

I almost finished the novel today. (I’m a little miffed that I couldn’t finish, but this is my fault, since I left the book at home. Nark said she would bring it up for me, but I figured I should take advantage of this craze while it lasted, so I went to a bookstore to read it while Dan studied, and the bookstore closed before I could finish. So frustrating!)

The premise is really fascinating: a man has a genetic disease that causes him to time travel in high stress situation. During one of his travels, he meets a young girl whom he marries later. It’s a love story; how they deal with the relationship and time travel and waiting.

The time travel aspect isn’t thought out very well or clearly and the story itself is a bit melodramatic, but what really spoke to me was the concept of waiting. Clare (the wife) spends her whole childhood waiting for a man that she sees in brief spurts of time and when she finally meets him in real time, she spends the rest of her life waiting for him to come back from his travels. She also has to wait for him to become the man she met when she was a child; she has to wait for the future because he won’t tell it to her; she has to wait for him, always, but she still loves him.

Those were the heart breaking moments for me. Each time Henry left and Clare just waited–those episodes were so bittersweet and precious–it made me cry. I will stop now, because I think I am not doing this book justice; I ran across this problem trying to explain the book to Dan. It sounds cheesy and dramatic, but it translates much better on the page, I promise.

Bottom line? Go read it! Or watch the movie with me, I super want to watch it, I love Rachel McAdams, okay I will stop now.

book

book

film

film

